Montessori and Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) & National Quality Framework (NQF)

Belonging, Being and Becoming – The Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF)

The EYLF emphasises a play-based approach to supporting children’s learning from birth to five years of age. It recognises that as children participate in everyday life, they develop interests and construct their own identities and understanding of the world. The EYLF is a key component of the National Quality Standards established by the Australian Government and managed by the Australia Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA).

There are five key outcomes of the EYLF, including:

  • Outcome 1: Children have a strong sense of identity
  • Outcome 2: Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  • Outcome 3: Children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  • Outcome 4: Children are confident and involved learners
  • Outcome 5: Children are effective communicators

Principles of the EYLF:

  • Each child’s learning will be based on their interests and strengths as guided by our educators
  • Educators will work in collaboration with our families to provide relevant learning experiences, based on their interests and family experiences
  • Every child will be equally valued, and their learning achievements will be celebrated
  • Educators will observe and record children’s educational journey
  • Educators will incorporate family feedback into Curriculum planning
  • Learning outcomes will be linked to the Curriculum of children’s learning and not be pre-planned
  • The Curriculum will extend on children’s interests, spontaneous experiences, and family input
  • Where appropriate, the service will engage with external agencies to best educate children with additional needs
  • The Curriculum will build and develop children’s Learning Stories, Portfolio and Observations
  • The Curriculum will be evaluated and reflected upon each week by educators


What are the National Quality standards?

In 2012 the National quality framework (NQF) was introduced to early childhood services across Australia. The NQF is part of the Australian government’s agenda for early childhood for early childhood education and care, which focuses on providing families with high quality, affordable and accessible integrated early childhood education.


There are also seven quality areas, including

  1. Quality Area 1 Educational Program and Practice
  2. Quality Area 2 Children’s Health and Safety
  3. Quality Area 3 Physical Environment
  4. Quality Area 4 Staffing Arrangements
  5. Quality Area 5 Relationships with children
  6. Quality Area 6 Collaborative partnerships with families and communities]
  7. Quality Area 7 Governance and Leadership



Maria Montessori

  • The Montessori Method
  • The Secret of Childhood
  • The Absorbent Mind



Early Years Learning Framework & National quality framework







We welcome you to contact us to express your interest in enrolling
your child and taking a tour of one of our centres.